Welcome to CIHI's online store

Home      Franšais       Login

If you have a disability and would like CIHI information in a different format, visit our Accessibility page.

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary Core

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary
Language: Media Type:
Pages: 73 File Details: (PDF) 2054 KB
Date: Mar 27, 2008 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: 978-1-55465-212-9 Action: Download

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary provides information about how certain factors can affect average costs of hospital stays for typical patients (excludes patients who transfer between acute care facilities, die in hospital, sign out of hospital before completing recommended course of care and stay in hospital longer than those who have a similar condition and/or procedure).

This report begins by providing the big picture on how much Canada spends on hospitals and in relation to total health expenditures. It then shows how new tools such as CMG+ can be used to estimate costs of hospital stays. Finally, the report provides insights on how certain factors can affect hospitalization costs for typical cases, such as the presence of other illnesses (beyond the most responsible reason for admission into hospital), the age of a patient, how many interventions are used during a patient's hospital stay, how and where a patient is treated and the type of interventions used.

Series

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary

Contact

NA



© 1996-2020, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.  eStore v2.1.55

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary Core

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary
Language: Media Type:
Pages: 78 File Details: (PDF) 2065 KB
Date: Mar 27, 2008 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: 978-1-55465-214-3 Action: Download

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary provides information about how certain factors can affect average costs of hospital stays for typical patients (excludes patients who transfer between acute care facilities, die in hospital, sign out of hospital before completing recommended course of care and stay in hospital longer than those who have a similar condition and/or procedure).

This report begins by providing the big picture on how much Canada spends on hospitals and in relation to total health expenditures. It then shows how new tools such as CMG+ can be used to estimate costs of hospital stays. Finally, the report provides insights on how certain factors can affect hospitalization costs for typical cases, such as the presence of other illnesses (beyond the most responsible reason for admission into hospital), the age of a patient, how many interventions are used during a patient's hospital stay, how and where a patient is treated and the type of interventions used.

Series

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary

Contact

NA



© 1996-2020, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.  eStore v2.1.55

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: N/A File Details: N/A
Date: N/A Price A/B: N/A
ISBN: N/A Action: N/A

This product is currently unavailable. Please contact the orderdesk for more information.

Series

The Cost of Hospital Stays: Why Costs Vary

Contact

NA



© 1996-2020, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.  eStore v2.1.55

FAQ

  • How do I see details for other versions of this publication?

    To view the details specific to other language or media types, change the selections in the language and media type drop-down lists.

Bienvenue à la Boutique en ligne de l'ICIS

Accueil      English       Ouverture de session

Si vous avez un handicap et aimeriez consulter l’information de l’ICIS dans un format différent, visitez notre page sur l’accessibilité.

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations Base

 Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations
Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 78 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 2065 Ko
Date : 27 mars 2008 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : 978-1-55465-214-3 Action : Télécharger

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations démontre à quel point certains facteurs influent sur les coûts moyens associés aux séjours à l'hôpital des patients typiques (les patients transférés d'un hôpital de soins de courte durée à un autre, les patients qui décèdent à l'hôpital, les patients qui quittent l'hôpital contre l'avis du médecin avant la fin de leur traitement et les patients qui séjournent à l'hôpital plus longtemps que ceux atteints d'un problème de santé similaire ont été exclus).

Le rapport présente d'abord un aperçu des sommes que le Canada consacre aux hôpitaux en proportion des dépenses totales de santé. Il démontre ensuite dans quelle mesure les nouveaux outils, comme la méthodologie GMA+, permettent d'estimer les coûts des séjours à l'hôpital. Enfin, le rapport fait état de certains facteurs qui peuvent influer sur les coûts d'hospitalisation de patients typiques, comme la présence d'autres maladies (en plus de la raison principale de l'admission à l'hôpital), l'âge du patient, le nombre d'interventions qu'il subit durant son séjour, le mode et le lieu du traitement dispensé au patient et le type d'interventions pratiquées.

Série

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations

Pour nous joindre

NA



© 1996-2020, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.  Boutique en ligne v2.1.55

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations Base

 Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations
Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 73 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 2054 Ko
Date : 27 mars 2008 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : 978-1-55465-212-9 Action : Télécharger

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations démontre à quel point certains facteurs influent sur les coûts moyens associés aux séjours à l'hôpital des patients typiques (les patients transférés d'un hôpital de soins de courte durée à un autre, les patients qui décèdent à l'hôpital, les patients qui quittent l'hôpital contre l'avis du médecin avant la fin de leur traitement et les patients qui séjournent à l'hôpital plus longtemps que ceux atteints d'un problème de santé similaire ont été exclus).

Le rapport présente d'abord un aperçu des sommes que le Canada consacre aux hôpitaux en proportion des dépenses totales de santé. Il démontre ensuite dans quelle mesure les nouveaux outils, comme la méthodologie GMA+, permettent d'estimer les coûts des séjours à l'hôpital. Enfin, le rapport fait état de certains facteurs qui peuvent influer sur les coûts d'hospitalisation de patients typiques, comme la présence d'autres maladies (en plus de la raison principale de l'admission à l'hôpital), l'âge du patient, le nombre d'interventions qu'il subit durant son séjour, le mode et le lieu du traitement dispensé au patient et le type d'interventions pratiquées.

Série

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations

Pour nous joindre

NA



© 1996-2020, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.  Boutique en ligne v2.1.55

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : s.o. Détails sur le fichier : s.o.
Date : s.o. Prix A/B : s.o.
ISBN : s.o. Action : s.o.

Ce produit n'est actuellement pas disponible. Veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau des commandes pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Série

Le coût des séjours à l'hôpital : D'où viennent les variations

Pour nous joindre

NA



© 1996-2020, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.  Boutique en ligne v2.1.55

FAQ

  • Comment puis-je visualiser les renseignements détaillés sur d'autres versions de cette publication?

    Pour visualiser les renseignements détaillés concernant une version disponible dans une autre langue ou dans un autre format, changez vos sélections dans les listes déroulantes relatives à la langue et au format.