Welcome to CIHI's online store

Home      Franšais       Login

Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: 16 File Details: (PDF) 873 KB
Date: Mar 9, 2010 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: NA Action: Download

Since the introduction of the public medical care system in Canada in the 1960s, the majority of physicians in Canada have been compensated through a fee-for-service (FFS) program. Over time, the use of alternative payment programs (APPs) has become more prominent. Nationally, 24.2% of physicians' clinical earnings were paid through APPs in 2007-2008. This analysis investigates how physicians in Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick were paid in 2007-2008, and the distribution of physicians paid through APPs or FFS by age, gender and specialty.

The updated version of Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces is now available for download.

Reference 9 in the original report was found to be outdated and the following paragraph was removed:

Furthermore, a relatively higher proportion of all physicians in Newfoundland and Labrador were paid mainly though APPs than their colleagues in P.E.I. and New Brunswick. According to the report Supply, Distribution and Migration of Canadian Physicians, 2008, international medical graduates (IMGs) in Newfoundland and Labrador represent 40.1% of the physician workforce, compared to New Brunswick and P.E.I., where a smaller percentage of the workforce is made up of IMGs (24.7% and 15.6%, respectively).8 In Newfoundland and Labrador, IMGs may be a factor in the higher proportion of physicians on APPs, given that the Newfoundland and Labrador provincial APP document states "international medical graduates who are not fully licensed in Canada are not able to practice on a fee-for-service basis."9

Date revised: April 14, 2010

Series

Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces

Contact

physicians@cihi.ca



© 1996-2018, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.

Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: 19 File Details: (PDF) 927 KB
Date: Mar 9, 2010 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: NA Action: Download

Since the introduction of the public medical care system in Canada in the 1960s, the majority of physicians in Canada have been compensated through a fee-for-service (FFS) program. Over time, the use of alternative payment programs (APPs) has become more prominent. Nationally, 24.2% of physicians' clinical earnings were paid through APPs in 2007-2008. This analysis investigates how physicians in Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick were paid in 2007-2008, and the distribution of physicians paid through APPs or FFS by age, gender and specialty.

The updated version of Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces is now available for download.

Reference 9 in the original report was found to be outdated and the following paragraph was removed:

Furthermore, a relatively higher proportion of all physicians in Newfoundland and Labrador were paid mainly though APPs than their colleagues in P.E.I. and New Brunswick. According to the report Supply, Distribution and Migration of Canadian Physicians, 2008, international medical graduates (IMGs) in Newfoundland and Labrador represent 40.1% of the physician workforce, compared to New Brunswick and P.E.I., where a smaller percentage of the workforce is made up of IMGs (24.7% and 15.6%, respectively).8 In Newfoundland and Labrador, IMGs may be a factor in the higher proportion of physicians on APPs, given that the Newfoundland and Labrador provincial APP document states "international medical graduates who are not fully licensed in Canada are not able to practice on a fee-for-service basis."9

Date revised: April 14, 2010

Series

Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces

Contact

physicians@cihi.ca



© 1996-2018, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.

Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: N/A File Details: N/A
Date: N/A Price A/B: N/A
ISBN: N/A Action: N/A

This product is currently unavailable. Please contact the orderdesk for more information.

Series

Profiling Physicians by Payment Program: A Closer Look at Three Provinces

Contact

physicians@cihi.ca



© 1996-2018, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.

FAQ

  • How do I see details for other versions of this publication?

    To view the details specific to other language or media types, change the selections in the language and media type drop-down lists.

Bienvenue à la Boutique en ligne de l'ICIS

Accueil      English       Ouverture de session

Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération: regard sur trois provinces Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 19 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 927 Ko
Date : 9 mars 2010 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : NA Action : Télécharger

Depuis la mise en oeuvre du systme public de soins médicaux au Canada dans les années 1960, la majorité des médecins au pays sont rémunérés à l'acte. Au fil du temps, le recours à différents modes de rémunération s'est accentué. En 2007-2008, à l'échelle nationale, 24,2 % des revenus pour services cliniques ont été versés au moyen d'autres modes de rémunération. La présente Analyse en bref examine comment les médecins de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du Nouveau-Brunswick ont été rémunérés en 2007-2008, ainsi que la distribution des médecins rémunérés à l'acte et au moyen d'autres modes de rémunération selon l'âge, le sexe et la spécialité.

La version mise à jour du rapport Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération : regard sur trois provinces est maintenant accessible par téléchargement.

En effet, la référence no 9 était désuète et le paragraphe suivant a été supprimé :

En outre, une proportion relativement plus élevée de l'ensemble des médecins de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a été rémunérée principalement au moyen d'autres modes de rémunération comparativement à leurs homologues de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du Nouveau-Brunswick. Selon le rapport Nombre, répartition et migration des médecins canadiens 2008, les diplômés internationaux en médecine (DIM) de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador représentent 40,1 % de l'effectif médical, soit une proportion plus élevée qu'au Nouveau-Brunswick et à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, où elle est de 24,7 % et de 15,6 %, respectivement8. À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, il est possible que les DIM influent sur la proportion plus élevée de médecins tirant principalement leur revenu d'autres modes de rémunération. En effet, le document portant sur les autres modes de rémunération de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador indique que les diplômés internationaux en médecine qui ne sont pas entièrement autorisés à pratiquer au Canada n'ont pas le droit d'être rémunérés à l'acte9.

Date de révision : le 14 avril 2010

Série

Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération: regard sur trois provinces

Pour nous joindre

physicians@cihi.ca



© 1996-2018, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.

Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération: regard sur trois provinces Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 16 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 873 Ko
Date : 9 mars 2010 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : NA Action : Télécharger

Depuis la mise en oeuvre du systme public de soins médicaux au Canada dans les années 1960, la majorité des médecins au pays sont rémunérés à l'acte. Au fil du temps, le recours à différents modes de rémunération s'est accentué. En 2007-2008, à l'échelle nationale, 24,2 % des revenus pour services cliniques ont été versés au moyen d'autres modes de rémunération. La présente Analyse en bref examine comment les médecins de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du Nouveau-Brunswick ont été rémunérés en 2007-2008, ainsi que la distribution des médecins rémunérés à l'acte et au moyen d'autres modes de rémunération selon l'âge, le sexe et la spécialité.

La version mise à jour du rapport Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération : regard sur trois provinces est maintenant accessible par téléchargement.

En effet, la référence no 9 était désuète et le paragraphe suivant a été supprimé :

En outre, une proportion relativement plus élevée de l'ensemble des médecins de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a été rémunérée principalement au moyen d'autres modes de rémunération comparativement à leurs homologues de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du Nouveau-Brunswick. Selon le rapport Nombre, répartition et migration des médecins canadiens 2008, les diplômés internationaux en médecine (DIM) de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador représentent 40,1 % de l'effectif médical, soit une proportion plus élevée qu'au Nouveau-Brunswick et à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, où elle est de 24,7 % et de 15,6 %, respectivement8. À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, il est possible que les DIM influent sur la proportion plus élevée de médecins tirant principalement leur revenu d'autres modes de rémunération. En effet, le document portant sur les autres modes de rémunération de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador indique que les diplômés internationaux en médecine qui ne sont pas entièrement autorisés à pratiquer au Canada n'ont pas le droit d'être rémunérés à l'acte9.

Date de révision : le 14 avril 2010

Série

Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération: regard sur trois provinces

Pour nous joindre

physicians@cihi.ca



© 1996-2018, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.

Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération: regard sur trois provinces Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : s.o. Détails sur le fichier : s.o.
Date : s.o. Prix A/B : s.o.
ISBN : s.o. Action : s.o.

Ce produit n'est actuellement pas disponible. Veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau des commandes pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Série

Profil des médecins selon le mode de rémunération: regard sur trois provinces

Pour nous joindre

physicians@cihi.ca



© 1996-2018, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.

FAQ

  • Comment puis-je visualiser les renseignements détaillés sur d'autres versions de cette publication?

    Pour visualiser les renseignements détaillés concernant une version disponible dans une autre langue ou dans un autre format, changez vos sélections dans les listes déroulantes relatives à la langue et au format.