Welcome to CIHI's online store

Home      Manage Contacts      Franšais       Login

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females Core

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females
Language: Media Type:
Pages: 24 File Details: (PDF) 440 KB
Date: Oct 14, 2010 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: Action: Download

Research, including previous CPHI analyses (Reducing Gaps in Health report, 2008), has demonstrated consistently higher hospitalization rates for people from lower socio-economic areas. New analyses presented in this report expand on those findings by examining the size and cost of disparities in hospitalization rates between socio-economic status groups across Canada's 33 largest cities.

Since research has shown the relationship between socio-economic status and health to differ by sex, results are presented separately for males and females. The foci of the analysis are ambulatory care sensitive conditions and mental illness - conditions for which hospitalization could potentially be avoided with adequate primary health care.

Companion Products

The following data tables provide detailed information on hospitalization disparities to supplement analyses presented in the Analysis in Brief Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females. The Excel spreadsheets below provide age-standardized hospitalization rates for ambulatory care sensitive conditions (ACSCs) and mental illness based on the material, social and combined (material and social) components of the INSPQ Deprivation Index in Canada's census metropolitan areas. For more information on the deprivation index, definitions for mental illness hospitalizations and ACSCs, see the Analysis in Brief.

Series

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females

Contact

cphi@cihi.ca



© 1996-2014, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females Core

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females
Language: Media Type:
Pages: 24 File Details: (PDF) 569 KB
Date: Oct 14, 2010 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: Action: Download

Research, including previous CPHI analyses (Reducing Gaps in Health report, 2008), has demonstrated consistently higher hospitalization rates for people from lower socio-economic areas. New analyses presented in this report expand on those findings by examining the size and cost of disparities in hospitalization rates between socio-economic status groups across Canada's 33 largest cities.

Since research has shown the relationship between socio-economic status and health to differ by sex, results are presented separately for males and females. The foci of the analysis are ambulatory care sensitive conditions and mental illness - conditions for which hospitalization could potentially be avoided with adequate primary health care.

Companion Products

The following data tables provide detailed information on hospitalization disparities to supplement analyses presented in the Analysis in Brief Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females. The Excel spreadsheets below provide age-standardized hospitalization rates for ambulatory care sensitive conditions (ACSCs) and mental illness based on the material, social and combined (material and social) components of the INSPQ Deprivation Index in Canada's census metropolitan areas. For more information on the deprivation index, definitions for mental illness hospitalizations and ACSCs, see the Analysis in Brief.

Series

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females

Contact

cphi@cihi.ca



© 1996-2014, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: N/A File Details: N/A
Date: N/A Price A/B: N/A
ISBN: N/A Action: N/A

This product is currently unavailable. Please contact the orderdesk for more information.

Series

Hospitalization Disparities by Socio-Economic Status for Males and Females

Contact

cphi@cihi.ca



© 1996-2014, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.

FAQ

  • How do I see details for other versions of this publication?

    To view the details specific to other language or media types, change the selections in the language and media type drop-down lists.

Bienvenue à la Boutique en ligne de l'ICIS

Accueil      English       Ouverture de session

Si vous avez un handicap et aimeriez consulter l’information de l’ICIS dans un format différent, visitez notre page sur l’accessibilité.

Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes Base

Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes
Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 24 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 569 Ko
Date : 14 oct. 2010 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : NA Action : Télécharger

La recherche, dont des analyses de l'ISPC (Réduction des écarts en matière de santé 2008), démontre que les taux d'hospitalisation sont invariablement plus élevés chez les personnes vivant dans des régions socioéconomiques défavorisées. Pour étoffer les conclusions de ces recherches, les nouvelles analyses présentées dans ce rapport examinent l'ampleur et les coûts des disparités entre les groupes socioéconomiques dans les 33 plus grandes régions métropolitaines du Canada.

Puisque la recherche démontre que le lien entre le statut socioéconomique et la santé varie selon le sexe, les résultats sont présentés séparément pour les hommes et les femmes. L'analyse porte essentiellement sur les conditions propices aux soins ambulatoires et les maladies mentales; or, l'hospitalisation pour ces problèmes de santé pourrait être évitée grâce à des soins de santé primaires adéquats.

Produits complémentaires

Les tableaux de données qui suivent contiennent de l'information détaillée sur les disparités en matière d'hospitalisation en complément des analyses présentées dans l'Analyse en bref Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes. Les fichiers Excel indiquent les taux d'hospitalisation normalisés selon l'âge pour le traitement de conditions propices aux soins ambulatoires (CPSA) et pour la maladie mentale, d'après les dimensions matérielle, sociale et combinées (matérielle et sociale) de l'indice de défavorisation pour la santé au Canada de l'INSPQ dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'indice de défavorisation et connaître les définitions liées aux hospitalisations en raison d'une maladie mentale et aux CPSA, veuillez consulter l'Analyse en bref.

Série

Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes

Pour nous joindre

ispc@icis.ca



© 1996-2020, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.  Boutique en ligne v2.1.55

Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes Base

Disparités en matière d¿hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes
Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 24 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 440 Ko
Date : 14 oct. 2010 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : NA Action : Télécharger

La recherche, dont des analyses de l'ISPC (Réduction des écarts en matière de santé 2008), démontre que les taux d'hospitalisation sont invariablement plus élevés chez les personnes vivant dans des régions socioéconomiques défavorisées. Pour étoffer les conclusions de ces recherches, les nouvelles analyses présentées dans ce rapport examinent l'ampleur et les coûts des disparités entre les groupes socioéconomiques dans les 33 plus grandes régions métropolitaines du Canada.

Puisque la recherche démontre que le lien entre le statut socioéconomique et la santé varie selon le sexe, les résultats sont présentés séparément pour les hommes et les femmes. L'analyse porte essentiellement sur les conditions propices aux soins ambulatoires et les maladies mentales; or, l'hospitalisation pour ces problèmes de santé pourrait être évitée grâce à des soins de santé primaires adéquats.

Produits complémentaires

Les tableaux de données qui suivent contiennent de l'information détaillée sur les disparités en matière d'hospitalisation en complément des analyses présentées dans l'Analyse en bref Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes. Les fichiers Excel indiquent les taux d'hospitalisation normalisés selon l'âge pour le traitement de conditions propices aux soins ambulatoires (CPSA) et pour la maladie mentale, d'après les dimensions matérielle, sociale et combinées (matérielle et sociale) de l'indice de défavorisation pour la santé au Canada de l'INSPQ dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'indice de défavorisation et connaître les définitions liées aux hospitalisations en raison d'une maladie mentale et aux CPSA, veuillez consulter l'Analyse en bref.

Série

Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes

Pour nous joindre

ispc@icis.ca



© 1996-2020, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.  Boutique en ligne v2.1.55

Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : s.o. Détails sur le fichier : s.o.
Date : s.o. Prix A/B : s.o.
ISBN : s.o. Action : s.o.

Ce produit n'est actuellement pas disponible. Veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau des commandes pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Série

Disparités en matière d'hospitalisation selon le statut socioéconomique chez les hommes et les femmes

Pour nous joindre

ispc@icis.ca



© 1996-2020, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.  Boutique en ligne v2.1.55

FAQ

  • Comment puis-je visualiser les renseignements détaillés sur d'autres versions de cette publication?

    Pour visualiser les renseignements détaillés concernant une version disponible dans une autre langue ou dans un autre format, changez vos sélections dans les listes déroulantes relatives à la langue et au format.