Welcome to CIHI's online store

Home      Franšais       Login

If you have a disability and would like CIHI information in a different format, visit our Accessibility page.

Coding Variations in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) Data Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: 0 File Details: (PDF) 630 KB
Date: Jun 6, 2003 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: 1-55392-224-7 Action: Download

Recent research conducted by CIHI, the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and the Ontario Joint Policy and Planning Committee (JPPC), identified unusual changes in reported acute care patient discharge abstract data for individual hospitals. The magnitude of some of these changes, particularly with respect to weighted cases, and the increasing use of Resource Intensity Weights or RIW weighted cases for hospital funding, has raised the question as to whether these changes reflect:

- changes in the clinical complexity of patients seen in hospital, or
- changes in comprehensiveness and quality of clinical documentation, or
- changes in hospital health records coding and abstracting practices.

The Ontario experience has prompted CIHI to closely examine its coding standards and grouping methodologies and to conduct a broader investigation of the potential variations in the comprehensiveness and comparability of the data in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD). The quality assurance processes applied to the DAD are described in a recent CIHI publication (CIHI, Quality Assurance Processes Applied to the Discharge Abstract and Hospital Morbidity Databases, August 2002) and the results of the 2-year CIHI DAD re-abstraction study were recently published (CIHI, Discharge Abstract Database Data Quality Re-Abstraction Study. Combined Findings for Fiscal Years 1999/2000 and 2000/2001, December 2002). This report presents the results of the parallel investigation of variations in the DAD data.

Series

Coding Variations in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) Data

Contact

NA



© 1996-2019, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.  eStore v2.1.55

Coding Variations in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) Data Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: 0 File Details: (PDF) 420 KB
Date: Jun 26, 2003 Price A/B: Free
ISBN: 1-55392-225-5 Action: Download

Recent research conducted by CIHI, the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and the Ontario Joint Policy and Planning Committee (JPPC), identified unusual changes in reported acute care patient discharge abstract data for individual hospitals. The magnitude of some of these changes, particularly with respect to weighted cases, and the increasing use of Resource Intensity Weights or RIW weighted cases for hospital funding, has raised the question as to whether these changes reflect:

- changes in the clinical complexity of patients seen in hospital, or
- changes in comprehensiveness and quality of clinical documentation, or
- changes in hospital health records coding and abstracting practices.

The Ontario experience has prompted CIHI to closely examine its coding standards and grouping methodologies and to conduct a broader investigation of the potential variations in the comprehensiveness and comparability of the data in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD). The quality assurance processes applied to the DAD are described in a recent CIHI publication (CIHI, Quality Assurance Processes Applied to the Discharge Abstract and Hospital Morbidity Databases, August 2002) and the results of the 2-year CIHI DAD re-abstraction study were recently published (CIHI, Discharge Abstract Database Data Quality Re-Abstraction Study. Combined Findings for Fiscal Years 1999/2000 and 2000/2001, December 2002). This report presents the results of the parallel investigation of variations in the DAD data.

Series

Coding Variations in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) Data

Contact

NA



© 1996-2019, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.  eStore v2.1.55

Coding Variations in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) Data Core

Not Available

Language: Media Type:
Pages: N/A File Details: N/A
Date: N/A Price A/B: N/A
ISBN: N/A Action: N/A

This product is currently unavailable. Please contact the orderdesk for more information.

Series

Coding Variations in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) Data

Contact

NA



© 1996-2019, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). All rights reserved.  eStore v2.1.55

FAQ

  • How do I see details for other versions of this publication?

    To view the details specific to other language or media types, change the selections in the language and media type drop-down lists.

Bienvenue à la Boutique en ligne de l'ICIS

Accueil      English       Ouverture de session

Variations de codification dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD)  Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 0 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 420 Ko
Date : 26 juin 2003 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : 1-55392-225-5 Action : Télécharger

La recherche récente réalisée par l'ICIS, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et le Joint Policy and Planning Committee (JPPC) de l'Ontario, a relevé les changements inhabituels dans les données déclarées par les hôpitaux sur les sorties des patients en soins de courte durée. L'ampleur de certains de ces changements, particulièrement en rapport avec les cas pondérés, et l'utilisation accrue de ceux-ci ou RIW dans le financement des hôpitaux, ont soulevé la question pour savoir si ces changements désignent :

- les changements dans la complexité clinique des patients vus à l'hôpital;
- les changements dans l'intégralité et la qualité de la documentation clinique;
- les changements dans la codification des dossiers médicaux et les pratiques de saisie des hôpitaux.

L'expérience de l'Ontario a poussé l'ICIS à examiner de près ses normes de codification et méthodologies de regroupement, et à réaliser une recherche plus générale des variations potentielles dans l'intégralité et la comparabilité des données dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD). Les processus d'assurance de la qualité appliqués à la DAD sont décrits dans une récente publication de l'ICIS (Processus d'assurance de la qualité de l'ICIS appliqués à la Base de données sur les congés des patients et à la Base de données sur la morbidité hospitalière, août 2002), et les résultats d'une étude de seconde saisie des données de la DAD, réalisée en deux années, ont été publiés dernièrement (Base de données sur les congés des patients - Étude de la qualité des données, Résultats combinés pour les exercices 1999-2000 et 2000-2001, décembre 2002, ICIS). Le présent rapport fait état des résultats d'une recherche parallèle sur les variations dans les données de la DAD.

Série

Variations de codification dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD)

Pour nous joindre

NA



© 1996-2019, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.

Variations de codification dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD)  Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : 0 Détails sur le fichier : (PDF) 630 Ko
Date : 6 juin 2003 Prix A/B : Gratuit
ISBN : 1-55392-224-7 Action : Télécharger

La recherche récente réalisée par l'ICIS, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et le Joint Policy and Planning Committee (JPPC) de l'Ontario, a relevé les changements inhabituels dans les données déclarées par les hôpitaux sur les sorties des patients en soins de courte durée. L'ampleur de certains de ces changements, particulièrement en rapport avec les cas pondérés, et l'utilisation accrue de ceux-ci ou RIW dans le financement des hôpitaux, ont soulevé la question pour savoir si ces changements désignent :

- les changements dans la complexité clinique des patients vus à l'hôpital;
- les changements dans l'intégralité et la qualité de la documentation clinique;
- les changements dans la codification des dossiers médicaux et les pratiques de saisie des hôpitaux.

L'expérience de l'Ontario a poussé l'ICIS à examiner de près ses normes de codification et méthodologies de regroupement, et à réaliser une recherche plus générale des variations potentielles dans l'intégralité et la comparabilité des données dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD). Les processus d'assurance de la qualité appliqués à la DAD sont décrits dans une récente publication de l'ICIS (Processus d'assurance de la qualité de l'ICIS appliqués à la Base de données sur les congés des patients et à la Base de données sur la morbidité hospitalière, août 2002), et les résultats d'une étude de seconde saisie des données de la DAD, réalisée en deux années, ont été publiés dernièrement (Base de données sur les congés des patients - Étude de la qualité des données, Résultats combinés pour les exercices 1999-2000 et 2000-2001, décembre 2002, ICIS). Le présent rapport fait état des résultats d'une recherche parallèle sur les variations dans les données de la DAD.

Série

Variations de codification dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD)

Pour nous joindre

NA



© 1996-2019, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.

Variations de codification dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD)  Base

Non disponible

Langue : Type de média :
Pages : s.o. Détails sur le fichier : s.o.
Date : s.o. Prix A/B : s.o.
ISBN : s.o. Action : s.o.

Ce produit n'est actuellement pas disponible. Veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau des commandes pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Série

Variations de codification dans la Base de données sur les congés des patients (DAD)

Pour nous joindre

NA



© 1996-2019, Institut canadien dinformation sur la santé (ICIS). Tous droits réservés.

FAQ

  • Comment puis-je visualiser les renseignements détaillés sur d'autres versions de cette publication?

    Pour visualiser les renseignements détaillés concernant une version disponible dans une autre langue ou dans un autre format, changez vos sélections dans les listes déroulantes relatives à la langue et au format.